Austria vs. Germany; Poland vs. Croatia: debutants will decide their future

Euro 2008’s Group B will come to a conclusion with the Austria – Germany match outcome proving crucial to decide which nation will take on Portugal in the quarterfinals. An Austria victory will see the host nation or Poland progress at the expense of Germany, meaning that debutants will survive the Group phase for the first time since 1996. It is not imposible, but it is difficult.

Germany themselves were the last to lift the trophy on their debut (1972).

Progress by debutants at European Championship, according to Infostrada Sports

2004 Latvia 4th (of 4) in group
2000 Norway 3rd (of 4) in group
2000 Slovenia 4th (of 4) in group
1996 Croatia Quarterfinals
1996 Bulgaria 3rd (of 4) in group
1996 Turkey 4th (of 4) in group
1996 Switzerland 4th (of 4) in group
1992 Sweden Semifinals
1992 Scotland 3rd (of 4) in group
1988 Republic of Ireland 3rd (of 4) in group
1984 Portugal Semifinals
1984 Romania 4th (of 4) in group
1980 Greece 4th (of 4) in group
1976 Netherlands Third place
1972 Germany Winners
1972 Belgium Third place
1968 Italy Winners
1968 England Third place
1964 Spain Winners
1964 Hungary Third place
1964 Denmark Fourth place
1960 Russia Winners
1960 Yugoslavia Runners-up
1960 Czech Republic Third place
1960 France Fourth place

1 comment:

LF said...

The Euro 2008 "Dream Team"